Baked Banana Oatmeal – A delicious breakfast!

I don’t know about you, but my breakfast was delicious!! I found this recipe over the weekend and just had to make it. I’m always looking for quick, run out the door breakfasts that I can eat once I get to work. In my perfect world, I wish I could wake up at 5:30 no problem or at least stop pushing the snooze in the morning so that I could enjoy my mornings a little better. This Baked Banana Oatmeal recipe comes from Tone It Up. If you try it, you’ll have to let me know what you think of it! I doubled the recipe so that I could share it with my momma. 3245a_f6ce

Ingredients

Makes 1 serving

1/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats
1/4 teaspoon coconut sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of sea salt
1/3 cup almond milk
1 ripe medium banana, mashed
1 egg white
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
honey for serving, optional
chopped toasted almonds or walnuts for serving, optional

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350° degrees. Lightly spray an ovenproof ramekin or bowl. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together oats, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together milk, mashed banana, egg white, and vanilla extract. Pour dry ingredients into wet and stir until combined. Pour mixture into prepared bowl. Bake for 20 minutes, or until oatmeal is puffed and set. Serve warm with maple syrup, agave nectar, toasted almonds, chopped walnuts, a sliced banana — whatever strikes your fancy!

Posted on November 13, 2013, in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

