Food for Thought: Just Push Yourself

First of all, I just want to say it’s… FRIDAY!! What does that mean? It’s the weekend!!

Something I wanted to share with you all is a few thoughts I had last night and this morning. As you probably know by now, I am very into the health and fitness industry. I am a newly Registered Kinesiologist and I am pursuing my certificate to become a Certified Personal Trainer and Certified Health Coach. I LOVE motivating people to exercise and eat healthy. I know that seeing someone go from being sedentary to being active and just becoming happier and healthier is why I was put on this earth. I’m almost on an emotional high when I help people become active. Okay, enough about that… I’ll get to my point.

Despite my background and love for exercise and being healthy, I do still have to push myself to do exercise. I know it’s good for me, I know I’ll feel amazing after, but I still feel like I need that push. Last night, after work, I felt so burned out and tired. I even fell asleep for probably 5 minutes (SUPER POWER NAP!!). When I woke up from this SPN, I did not want to exercise. What did I do though? I pictured myself being on the beach… 16 days from yesterday and asked myself… would I be happy and satisfied with the way that I looked currently? The answer was no. Then I pictured myself sticking to my exercise routine and how I’d look… would I be happier with the way I looked then? Much more. Would I feel better after I exercised? Definitely. So, what did I do? Before I could change my mind, I whipped on my workout clothes, put on my running shoes, turned on my workout DVD so I could hear the music in the background while I set up my equipment and went to town. I completed the Tone It Up High Intensity Interval Training DVD2. How did I feel once I completed the workout? Awesome. I’m so glad I did it! I’m so glad I pushed myself to the next level to complete. Losing weight and exercising is not easy. One thought that came across my mind was “I wish there was a fast and easy fix and I didn’t have to go through the rigmarole to reach my goals”. Change is not easy. Doing exercise is not the most comfortable thing in the world, but you wanna know what? It gets easier. The harder you push, the more you do it, the easier it becomes.

Again, I’ll get to the basic point. Don’t feel like exercising? You are not alone. I’m sure even the professionals will tell you it’s so tempting to lay in bed or sit there and watch tv instead of spending 40 minutes doing High Intensity Interval Training. We are not perfect and don’t expect you to be perfect either. What should you do? Just push yourself that little bit more and you will be so happy you did it. Exercise is for you! It’s your time to do things for yourself — your time to feel better, function more optimally, look better and increase your self esteem. I know I said this once recently but remember the quote: “I totally regret that workout”  said NO ONE EVER!

Have a fantastic weekend, everyone. Push yourself, be yourself…. you can do it!

This is the video I was doing with the girls last night... boy was it awesome!

This is the video I was doing with the girls last night… boy was it awesome! Yes, I looked that sweaty and was red-faced.

 

Posted on December 6, 2013, in Exercise, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

